Diversity and Inclusion Initiative

Spurred by a new partnership with Deloitte, described here, the Center for Leadership and Change Management is launching an initiative to support research on under-represented minorities in the workplace with a particular focus on women of color.

The goal is to advance research on diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice in organizations. Specifically, we seek to gain a more nuanced understanding not only of the challenges that underrepresented minorities and women of color face in the workplace, but also insights into personal, interpersonal, and organizational strategies as well as policy interventions that can support these professionals as they advance in their careers and leadership roles.

Research proposals will be peer reviewed and grants of up to $7,500 will be provided for expenses including research assistants, summer interns, data collection, surveys, and other direct research costs. Researchers around the world investigating the topic of U.S. under-represented minorities in the workplace with a particular focus on U.S. women of color are eligible to participate in this funding opportunity. Research proposals not focused on the U.S. workplace/workers will not be eligible in this first year of the initiative.

The 2023-2024 application cycle is closed. For information on previous proposals chosen, please see our 2021 and 2022 funded research pages.

Research Committee
The committee is chaired by Adam Grant and it includes Michael Useem and the following faculty members:

“We are so grateful for Deloitte’s support and collaboration on this vitally important work,” said Erika James, dean of the Wharton School and a leading expert on workplace diversity. “Together, we have an incredible opportunity to help organizations become more inclusive. What better way to do that than producing insights and empowering people to put them to work. While leaders need these solutions right now, our students are hungry for the knowledge that will help them ‘be the change’ in the sectors they choose for their future careers. ”

For more information, please contact Megan O’Malley

Adam Grant
The Saul P. Steinberg
Professor of Management;
Committee Chairperson

Stephanie Creary
Assistant Professor
of Management

Katherine Klein
Edward H. Bowman
Professor of Management

Nancy Rothbard
David Pottruck Professor
Chairperson, Management

Mike Useem

William & Jaclyn
Egan Professor of
Center Director